Crunchyroll announces its 2020 Anime Awards Nominees

Crunchyroll has announced its nominees for the 2020 Anime Awards! The anime streamer/brand has hosted the awards show since 2017 to celebrate all aspects of the genre, from voice performances to fighting scenes, to animation and music. This year, the show is hosted by WWE Superstar/YouTuber (and PhD holder) Xavier Woods and will honor Wit Studio President George Wada as 2020’s Industry Icon for his work on shows including Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex, Attack on Titan and more.

Crunchyroll’s 2020 Anime Awards airs live on February 15, at 5pm PST and relies on fens of the genre to determine its winners. From January 10 (today!) through the 17, you can vote in each category for your favorites. If you want, you can even return everyday and continue voting! Crunchyoll will reset daily at midnight, so final tallies will be compiled from each day of voting.

But, enough with the technical stuff. Let’s get to the nominees.

Thanks to Crunchy’s diverse range of categories for the 2020 Anime Awards, there’s a noticeable spread. So, even though shows like Attack On TitanMob PsychoVinland Saga, Sarazanmai and The Promised Neverland definitely lead the pack here, you’ll find some less popular titles, too. Thankfully, since you can vote in any category up to seven times, you don’t even have to make the impossible decisions presented by some of these categories. (But also, catch me voting for Emma any chance I get.)

– Advertisement-

crunchyroll 2020 anime awards

Crunchyroll Anime Awards Nominees

Anime of the Year 

Best Protagonist 

  • Emma, The Promised Neverland

  • Hyakkimaru, Dororo

  • Saitama, One-Punch Man Season 2

  • Senku, Dr. STONE

  • Tanjiro Kamado, Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba

  • Tohru Honda, Fruits Basket

Best Antagonist 

  • Ai Magase, BABYLON

  • Angela, Carole & Tuesday

  • Askeladd, Vinland Saga

  • Garou, One-Punch Man Season 2

  • Isabella, The Promised Neverland

  • Overhaul, My Hero Academia Season 4

Best Boy

  • Bruno Bucciarati, JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure: Golden Wind

  • Hyakkimaru, Dororo

  • Kanata Hoshijima, ASTRA LOST IN SPACE

  • Naruzou Machio, How Heavy Are the Dumbbells You Lift?

  • Shigeo “Mob” Kageyama, Mob Psycho 100 II

  • Tanjiro Kamado, Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba

Best Girl

  • Carole, Carole & Tuesday

  • Chika Fujiwara, KAGUYA-SAMA: LOVE IS WAR

  • Emma, The Promised Neverland

  • Kohaku, Dr. STONE

  • Nezuko Kamado, Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba

  • Raphtalia, The Rising of the Shield Hero

Best Director

  • Tetsuro Araki, Attack on Titan Season 3

  • Kiyotaka Suzuki, BABYLON

  • Shinichiro Watanabe & Motonobu Hori, Carole & Tuesday

  • Yuzuru Tachikawa, Mob Psycho 100 II

  • Kunihiko Ikuhara, Sarazanmai

  • Shuhei Yabuta, Vinland Saga

Best Animation

Best Character Design 

  • Tsunenori Saito, Original Character Design by Eisaku Kubonouchi, Carole & Tuesday

  • Satoshi Iwataki, Original Character Design by Hiroyuki Asada, Dororo

  • Yuko Iwasa, Dr. STONE

  • Yuko Yahiro, Original Character Design by Aka Akasaka, KAGUYA-SAMA: LOVE IS WAR

  • Kayoko Ishikawa, Original Character Design by Miggy, Sarazanmai

  • Takahiko Abiru, Original Character Design by Makoto Yukimura, Vinland Saga

Best Score

  • Hiroyuki Sawano, Attack on Titan Season 3

  • Mocky, Carole & Tuesday

  • Go Shiina and Yuki Kajiura, Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba

  • Tatsuya Kato, Hiroaki Tsutsumi, and YUKI KANESAKA, Dr. STONE

  • Yugo Kanno, JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure: Golden Wind

  • Kevin Penkin, The Rising of the Shield Hero

Best Fight Scene 

  • Emperor Crimson vs. Metallic, JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure: Golden Wind

  • Levi vs. Beast Titan, Attack on Titan Season 3

  • Mob vs. Toichiro, Mob Psycho 100 II

  • Tanjiro & Nezuko vs. Rui, Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba

  • Thorfinn vs. Thorkell, Vinland Saga

  • Ushiwakamaru vs. Tiamat, Fate/Grand Order Absolute Demonic Front: Babylonia

Best Couple

  • Baki Hanma & Kozue Matsumoto, Baki

  • Kaguya Shinomiya & Miyuki Shirogane, KAGUYA-SAMA: LOVE IS WAR

  • Mafuyu Sato & Ritsuka Uenoyama, given

  • Reo & Mabu, Sarazanmai

  • Rika Zonazaki & Shun Amagi, O Maidens in Your Savage Season

  • Ymir & Historia, Attack on Titan Season 3

Best VA Performance (JP)

  • Mamoru Miyano as Reo Niiboshi, Sarazanmai

  • Saori Hayami as Shinobu Kocho, Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba

  • Yuichi Nakamura as Bruno Bucciarati, JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure: Golden Wind

  • Yukino Satsuki as Ai Magase, BABYLON

  • Yuuko Kaida as Isabella, The Promised Neverland

  • Yusuke Kobayashi as Senku, Dr. STONE

Best VA Performance (EN)

  • Kyle McCarley as Shigeo “Mob” Kageyama, Mob Psycho 100 II

  • Laura Bailey as Tohru Honda, Fruits Basket

  • Erica Mendez as Retsuko, Aggretsuko Season 2

  • Billy Kametz as Naofumi, The Rising of the Shield Hero

  • Faye Mata as Aqua, KONOSUBA -God’s blessing on this wonderful world!

  • Casey Mongillo as Shinji, Neon Genesis Evangelion

Best Comedy

Best Fantasy

Best Drama


  • Carole & Tuesday

  • Fruits Basket

  • Stars Align

  • The Promised Neverland

  • Vinland Saga

Best Opening Sequence

  • ♪ Kiss Me by Nai Br.XX & Celeina Ann, Carole & Tuesday

  • ♪ Kawaki wo Ameku by Minami, Domestic Girlfriend

  • ♪ Inferno by Mrs. GREEN APPLE, Fire Force

  • ♪ 99.9 by MOB CHOIR feat. sajou no hana, Mob Psycho 100 II

  • ♪ Touch Off by UVERworld, The Promised Neverland

  • ♪ Mukanjyo by Survive Said the Prophet, Vinland Saga

Best Ending Sequence

  • ♪ Hold Me Now by Nai Br.XX & Celeina Ann, Carole & Tuesday

  • ♪ Sayonara Gokko by amazarashi, Dororo

  • ♪ veil by Keina Suda, Fire Force

    • Storyboards, Direction, Animation, Coloring, and Backgrounds

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

New Video Games Out This Week: Hunt Showdown, Vanquish, and More
Nintendo Switch Shortage Expected to Hit North America and Europe
Original SpongeBob cast reprise voices for KAMP KORAL spinoff
Comics industry reacts to Dan DiDio’s departure from DC Comics
Fortnite Chapter 2 Season 2: How to Unlock Scanner Doors and Chests

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *